MANCHESTER RESTAURANT REVIEWS - Chaophraya Thai Restaurant Manchester | About Us | Advertise |
Restaurants Of Manchester  
Special offers at Chaophraya

Home | Submit a restaurant review | Manchester Bars | What's On in Manchester | Manchester Hotels | Subscribe
Manchester Restaurants by Location | Restaurants by Cuisine | Top 10 Best Restaurants in Manchester | A-Z

Thai restaurants in Manchester | Oriental | Vegetarian | Seafood | near Royal Exchange | near shops | near MEN Arena | Hi-Life | C
 
 
Chaophraya Manchester
Tel. 0161 832 8342
15-17 Chapel Walks, Manchester, M2 1HN [map]
~ Pride Of Manchester Awards Winner ~
~ Members' Favourite Restaurant 2008-09 & 2009-10 ~
~ Best Restaurant in Manchester 2007-08 ~
~ 2 mins walk to Royal Exchange ~
Superb multi-award winning Thai restaurant above Sam's Chop House, one of the busiest restaurants in Manchester city centre
click here Chaophraya Manchester
 
 
 
 
click here for 2 meals for the price of 1
 
 
 
 
Chaophraya Restaurant Manchester - overall reader reviews
food
price
service
smartness
overall:
most popular dish: Gang Kiew Wan (Thai Green Curry) (£8)
 
 
 
 
Chaophraya Thai Restaurant Manchester - member's reviews
"When we visited Chaophraya. the scaffolding outside made it a little dark inside. The entrance and greeting were very nice. The decor is not incredibly special but it's comfortable with a nice ambience. We had the cheapest of the set meals yet there was a lot of food and great variety. It's not cheap but worth the price and we got a lot of food with a lot of variety for what we paid. With many different tastes, it was very well presented in good time even though the restaurant was very busy. The waiters were not intrusive but were generally there if needed despite it being very busy. We will certainly go back again." ~ Scott Owens, Salford ~ NEW MEMBER (26/7/2012 ~ visited on a Thu evening)

"The food at Chaophraya was exceptional, very tasty and very well presented. The decor is fantastic and the service was superb." - Chris Williams, Eccles - NEW MEMBER - (11/7/12 - visited on a weds evening)

"Chaophraya has an authentic feel but is very modern. The food is very good value, very tasty, generous portions and excellent presentation matched by outstanding service." - Soraya Duczenko, Holmfirth - NEW MEMBER - (10/7/12 - visited on a weds evening)

"Chaophraya is a smart building with a nice layout. It did get a little bit loud, especially when they started up the drums and bells, presumably for a celebration, but it was off putting for people wanting a conversation over a quiet meal. It's slightly more expensive than other Thai restaurants. Overall I wouldn't say the price was justified. The Lamb Satay starter was greasy and didn't seem like very good quality meat, whilst other starters in the group were also greasy and disappointing. The Thai Red Curry was very mild, no spice at all apart from a couple of pieces of red chili. I wouldn't go as far as saying it was bland, but it certainly wasn't packed with flavour. The service was polite and correct, right down to the waiters knowing who had ordered which dishes. While the service and decor are very nice, a restaurant with these prices needs to be judged on the quality of the food and I'm afraid that was lacking. For that reason, I couldn't recommend over cheaper Thai options" - Dan, Newcastle under Lyme - NEW MEMBER - (16/2/12 - visited on a friday evening)

"I visited Chaophraya off the back of the Restaurants Of Manchester Top 10, and I must say that the food was absolutely phenomenal. It's a lovely restaurant, funky with a fascinating tank of jelly fish behind the bar and the staff were great, very helpful. The service was excellent throughout, nothing was too much trouble for them and they provided a great show when ever somebody was celebrating a birthday. It may be considered as expensive by some people, but the food is certainly worth every penny. I will definitely be recommending to friends and family and visiting again soon, although I would warn that you need to patient, as you may have to wait for your table whether you have booked or not - it is a busy place." - Nathalie Clarke, Holcombe Brook - member since Mar'08 - (23/1/12 - visited on a saturday evening)

"We had read good reviews about Chaophraya and was recommended also by friends. I tried booking a table for my partner's birthday by emailing the restaurant in January and got no reply after three attempts so had to phone directly. Our experience on the night was also very disappointing. It has lovely decor and is really attractive but not necessarily Thai orientated. We were served quickly for drinks and our food orders taken. We then waited 35 minutes for our starter which was a sharing platter. The food was lovely, in modest portions and reasonably priced. 15 or so minutes later, our main course Vegetarian Banquet arrived. We started eating and realised one of the three dishes was undercooked with raw vegetables. I told the waiter who took it back to the kitchen and quickly replaced it with another. Unfortunately, this was exactly the same. We told him again, very unhappy by this stage, although he didn't bring another, saying that the chef had said that it was fresh vegetables and not raw. After deciding that we no longer wanted to stay and eat the meal (we left 90% of it) and asked for the bill. The waiter offered us a 'special price', but only knocked 15% off the total bill - for a meal we didn't eat. We finally spoke to the manager who knocked a bit more off before we finally settled by paying for only the drinks and starter. The food that was properly cooked was nice and it was a shame the customer service spoilt the experience." - krissy, preston - member since nov'09 - (22/2/11 - visited on a saturday evening)

"Chaophraya is very stylish with authentic decor and atmosphere. The food was delicious and the portion sizes did not disappoint, well worth the money, it's very reasonable. The service was very good too, the waiter even remembered us from a previous visit." - helena michael, manchester - NEW MEMBER - (22/2/11 - visited on a saturday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "This was the first visit for 5 out of 6 of us to Chaophraya and everybody was very impressed. The restaurant offered great food and atmosphere and we were really well looked after. Highly recommended." - Liz, Cheshire - TRUSTED REVIEWER (21/10/09 - visited on a friday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "After all the talk about Chaophraya, I was really looking forward to eating there. After fretting about what to order, we decided to get a Banquet to share between three of us. The starters were good, and arrived quickly but the mains were a little disappointing, and were greasy for some of the dishes. The Green Curry was good, but was a little too rich for my own tastes. The Pad Thai was nice, but that was very greasy, which is not very pleasant. The staff seemed to force the drinks on us a little, but after the amount of food we got for £20 each, we couldn't really stomach it! Overall, for the price, the food was OK however, I wouldn't go out of my way to return." - Bill McLocklan, Manchester - TRUSTED REVIEWER (14/7/09 - visited on a wednesday evening)


Trusted Reviewer "Chaophraya never fails to delight. Another evening of excellent food and attentive service. This time Mr B & I were entertaining 4 guests from Norway who have previously visited Thailand. As always we received a warm greeting and were shown to our table, settled in with menus and our drinks order promptly taken. Our table was a quiet round table, as requested, and a great size. Our waitress was attentive and helpful without ever rushing us. Our guests were impressed with the choice of dishes available. We opted for mixed starters and followed the waitress' advice to order 4 rather than 6 - an excellent suggestion as there was ample for all and they were proclaimed delicious. We had 6 different main courses together with various rice accompaniments. All were excellent and my coconut rice and Prawn Curry with fruit were sublime. Mr B is a lamb connoisseur and was delighted with his Thai Spiced Shank which was so tender it fell off the bone. If you order this, consider skipping the rice - it comes with a generous portion of vegetables including roast pumpkin. The other dishes of Thai Spiced Pork, Prawn Fried Rice and Pad Thai were proclaimed excellent. Despite it being a busy Friday evening, we never felt rushed or under any pressure to leave our table. The bill was accurate, the added service charge well deserved and the total cost extremely good value. Once again Chaophyra delivered an outstanding experience and we look forward to many more." - melanie bryan, wigan - TRUSTED REVIEWER since Sep 2008 (27/4/09 - visited on a friday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "Had a wonderful meal at Chaophraya, everyone was happy with their food. The staff are incredibly polite and explained things to us. Everything was made freshly and you could tell by the flavours and smells. For a city centre restaurant I thought the price was very good and was excellent value for money. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Manchester we will certanly return (hopefully soon)." - catherine, manchester 17/11/08 (visited on a saturday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "My husband and I had a very enjoyable meal at Chaophraya. We had the mixed starter to share that was delicious. I had the crab dish, Kah Pad Pou that was good. It had crab claws, which I wasn't expecting, I assumed the crab would be shredded into the rice. Certainly different, however the rice dish was very bland, so I would try something else next time. My husband's however was delicious, he had the Pad Prik Sod, (Word of warning - try to avoid eating too many chilli peppers, they are very hot!) We finished off the meal by sharing some Deep Fried Coconut Ice Cream that was unusual, tasty and definitely a sharing dish. The restaurant and bar have a great ambience. You do have to reserve a table in advance. The staff were very polite and professional, just lacked a little friendliness. I would recommend you try this restaurant; there is a huge choice on the menu, which makes you want to go back again to try something new." - michelle, rochdale 30/8/08 (visited on a friday evening)

 
 
Chaophraya

Submit a review of Chaophraya Manchester

To submit a review of Chaophraya Manchester, you must be a Pride Of Manchester member...
 
 
 
Not yet a Member?
Pride Of Manchester members receive weekly...
~ Exclusive restaurant offers (including 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive theatre offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive bar offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ The latest news of what's on in Manchester (new concerts to be announced, comedy shows, cinema releases and pre-sale info)
We promise never to share your info with anyone else and you can manage your subscription at any point.
 
 
 
Already a Member?
If you're already a Pride Of Manchester member, simply enter your details below to submit your review...
Only members can post reviews...
Your full name:
Email address:
 
  
our hotel websites
manchester
our theatre guides
 
  
Disclaimer: All information correct 1/1/2011. RestaurantsOfManchester.com and ManchesterRestaurants.com can not be held responsible for any differences experienced at the premises listed. All images and information 2002-2016 Pride Of Manchester