MANCHESTER RESTAURANTS - Don Giovannis Reviews | About Us | Advertise |
Restaurants Of Manchester
CLICK HERE for special offers at Don Giovannis Manchester

Home | Special Offers | Submit a restaurant review | Manchester Bars | What's On in Manchester | Manchester Hotels | Subscribe
Manchester Restaurants by Location | Restaurants by Cuisine | Top 10 Best Restaurants in Manchester | Manchester Restaurant A-Z

Italian restaurants in Manchester | Pizzerias | near Bridgewater Hall | near Palace Theatre | near Opera House | near Academy | D
 
 
Don Giovannis Manchester
TEL: 0161 228 2482
1-2 Peter House, Oxford Street, Manchester, M1 4PB [map]
Stylish modern Italian restaurant on Oxford Street, a short walk from The Bridgewater Hall, Palace Theatre and Opera House
Don Giovannis Manchester
 
 
 
 
Don Giovannis Restaurant Manchester - overall reader reviews
food
price
service
smartness
overall:
most popular dish: 8oz Fillet Steak (£19.95)
 
 
 
 
Don Giovannis Italian Restaurant Manchester - member's reviews

Trusted Reviewer "I recently attended a wine event at Don Giovannis with my girlfriend and was so impressed, I brought some work colleagues back for a quick lunch. We ate from both the Lunch Specials and A la Carte menus. The Cheese & Tomato Garlic Bread was good and seemed to vanish from the plate in seconds. The Whitebait was the stand out dish, the Meatballs however were OK but cold. We thought this maybe because we had also ordered a Lasagne to come out with the starters (one of our group was in a rush to get back to the office), which may have resulted in them being served up too early and left to wait untill the Lasagne was ready (which came out piping hot). For the mains, the quality of my steak was very average - it wasn't the best cut of meat and was lacking in flavour - very well under seasoned. The dish was supposed to come with potato wedges but I was told these were not available and had to be replaced with chips, which again tasted really poor, as was the side salad that accompanied the dish - which was miniscule and a little grubby. From my previous visit and rave reviews from family and friends, I know they can deliver a much better standard of food and service but, on this visit, I left the restaurant feeling a little disappointed. That said, a couple within my group had a better experience and stated they would return." - James, Salford - TRUSTED REVIEWER - 24/10/12 (visited on a Monday lunch)

food
price
service
smartness
overall

"I had visited Don Giovannis following positive reviews and I took advantage of the 2/3 course deal on Restaurants Of Manchester. I felt the cost of this was reasonable and I was happy with the food as it was very nicely presented and tasted lovely. The restaraunt looked very nice and was one of the aspects that attracted me to it. Unfortunately, I found the service staff did not seem as interested in myself and my girlfriend as they were with other larger tables. It felt that we were a second thought once the larger groups were served, many of which were seated after ourselves. I ordered a Coca-Cola and had to wait 20 minutes before having to remind the staff of my order, which I find appaling. Due to the way the service made both of us feel, I would not visit Don Giovannis again" - Gareth, Manchester - NEW MEMBER - 11/10/12 (visited on a Saturday evening)

"We went to Don Giovannis for my husband's 30th birthday. The food was great and we have been before on a busy night and the service was slow but still good. This night also started great and we were welcomed and seated very promptly and given the menu to look over. We waited for our order to be taken so long however, that we ended up going looking for someone to take the order. The first drinks and starters arrived quickly at 8pm and all were very nice. It was around 8.50pm however by the time our plates were cleared, again after we went looking for someone. They had obviously forgotten about us. In the meantime, we had finished our drinks and ended up just ordering further drinks directly at the bar as no one came to our table. The mains again were nowhere in sight, so my husband chased them up and complained about the lack of service at the same time. They didn't apologise really and just tried to explain they were busy and we should understand this, however, from our seats, we could see the whole of the restaurant and everyone else had received second drinks. Besides, it should never take over 30 minutes to clear plates from the table. We were then told the food was just coming out of the kitchen, yet we had to wait another 15 minutes and, even then, the last dish came out 5 minutes after the other four dishes. We received Dessert Menus promptly and were informed they would be on the house. Fortunately, along with coffees, these arrived in the normal time frame and the bill came once asked. However, as it was my husband's birthday, I had contacted the restaurant about doing something special with his dessert and was assured this would be sorted. It was not! I just have no faith in Don Giovannis any more and there are so many good Italian's in town, I will not be going back" - Lorna Foster, Manchester - Member since April 2008 - 1/10/12 (visited on a Saturday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "Popped in for a quick pasta early evening with my husband. Despite the place being quite busy with Christmas parties we got excellent service throughout our meal and the waiters were all very friendly and courteous. We had an excellent bruschetta for starters - as good as I've had anywhere - then I plumped for the Farfalle Della Casa, which was superb. My husband's Penne Alfredo looked ok, but I'd definitely made the right choice. With nice reasonably priced wines to go with the meal, the overall experience was really good and I would definitely rate this restaurant as one of the top Italian places in town" - Liz, Cheshire 11/12/08 (visited on a Thursday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "I visit Don Giovannis on a regular basis. I have eaten in nearly all of the Italian eateries in Manchester and I feel that this has to be one of the best all round. I used to go to Don Giovannis when it was a tiny little family run restaurant and I worried that as they morphed into a classy modern joint, some of that 'little Italy' atmosphere would be lost and there would be implications for the warmth of the service. To some extent this is true. Some of the younger waiters they have employed recently are a little incompetent, but the front of house manager and senior staff are very competent, always ensuring indiscrepancies are corrected. For example on my last visit, a young waiter kept over filling our wine glasses, and with white wine this is obviously problematic for maintaining a cool temperature. He was duly corrected and even came over to apologise. The last time I ate at DG I had a pasta starter (great value for £4.95) followed by a whole baked sea bass with herb marinade. It was delicious! It was also nice to see a large variety of Italian liquors to have after the meal including Limoncello, one of my favourite after dinner tipples. I recommend this restaurant over and over to family and friends. It is great for celebrations (I have had some great birthday meals here) but also fantastic for a light bite. Be sure to check out the deli next door" - Claudia, Manchester 11/12/08 (visited on a Saturday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "My husband and I pre-booked a table, good job we did as we still had to wait 15 mins as it was very busy. We arrived to a very unfriendly greeting by the front of house guy and to be honest that was the greeting we received by all of the waiters, felt like they were only interested in making the regular customers happy. The restaurant is very romantic with candles on the tables, however the tables are very close together and the waiters just seem to be rushing past you all the time. Starters were good, we had Goats Cheese and Bruscetta. Mains were OK, nothing special, we had Lasagne and Cannelloni. We did have to ask for our wine to come, as we sat there 5 mins with meals and no drinks. Cheescake for dessert, but again not much better than what I could buy in the supermarket. Overall, a nice place to eat for atmosphere, food OK, but service was poor. We won't be rushing back" - Michelle, Rochdale 20/9/08 (visited on a Friday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "My wife and I visited early evening for a quick pasta. Our Pizza Garlic Bread with Mozzarella followed by Farfalle del Casa was excellent - up there with some of the best Italian food we've tasted in Manchester. The restaurant itself is very smart and impressive, so overall a satisfying experience. Slight niggles - some of the tables are a bit close together so staff bumped into my wife's chair a few times, and our "cheeky chappy" waiter was friendly and worked hard but the service could have been better - too many waiters congregating round the bar area, apparently doing not a lot, leaving a couple of waiters looking after the ten or so tables which were occupied" - Ian, Stockton Heath 25/6/08 (visited on a Tuesday evening)

 
 
Don Giovannis Manchester

Submit a review of Don Giovannis Manchester

To submit a review of Don Giovannis, you must be a Pride Of Manchester member...
 
 
 
Not yet a Member?
Pride Of Manchester members receive weekly...
~ Exclusive restaurant offers (including 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive theatre offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive bar offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ The latest news of what's on in Manchester (new concerts to be announced, comedy shows, cinema releases and pre-sale info)
We promise never to share your info with anyone else and you can manage your subscription at any point.
 
 
 
Already a Member?
If you're already a Pride Of Manchester member, simply enter your details below to submit your review...
Only members can post reviews...
Your full name:
Email address:
 
   
our hotel websites
manchester
our theatre guides
birmingham theatres london theatres
blackpool theatres manchester theatres
brighton theatres milton keynes theatres
bristol theatres newcastle theatres
cardiff theatres nottingham theatres
dublin theatres oxford theatres
edinburgh theatres sunderland theatres
glasgow theatres yorkshire theatres
leeds theatres family shows
liverpool theatres pantomimes
Disclaimer: All information correct 1/4/2011. RestaurantsOfManchester.com and ManchesterRestaurants.com can not be held responsible for any differences experienced at the premises listed. All images and information 2002-16PrideOfManchester